Cheap Auto Insurance Quotes in Utah
Utah Is A No-fault Insurance State
Utah requires all registered cars and trucks of residents to maintain no-fault insurance. In a no-fault insurance state, people injured in an accident first claim their no-fault insurance coverage before (if at all) claiming liability insurance policy of the at-fault vehicle operator. The no-fault insurance policy is required to pay at least $3000 in Personal Injury Protection benefits per person.
Only after your PIP benefits are exhausted, you can file a lawsuit against the at-fault driver. The rationale behind this might be to reduce the number of filed lawsuits and hence the hassle. Also, remember, when claiming the liability insurance of the at-fault person injuries must fall under some special cases such as permanent disability, permanent impairment, permanent disfigurement, or dismemberment.
Even non-residents are required to maintain no-fault insurance if the operated vehicle has been used for at least 90 days during the last 365 days. Motor vehicles except off-highway vehicles must have liability coverage during vehicle registration period.
Is carrying proof of insurance required in Utah?
Drivers are required to carry proof of insurance such as insurance card, insurance binder, or insurance declaration all the time with them. One may also provide evidence of insurance in an electronic format.
Auto Insurance Monitoring In Utah
As mentioned earlier, you have be asked to show proof of insurance during traffic stops and in case of traffic violations by a law enforcement officer.
Utah is pretty advanced at detecting violations using a computerized system. For several years, Utah has also followed a system in which Utah-registered vehicles are checked periodically for having an insurance policy using a computer program. When the program fails to find a corresponding insurance policy, it initiates sending a letter to the registered owner of the vehicle asking the proof of insurance.
The company which performs these period computerized checks is Insure-Rite, Inc. It works hard to keep uninsured vehicles off roads in Utah.
Not insuring a registered vehicle can lead to suspension of vehicle's registration, driving license of the driver, and fines. Driving without auto insurance is a Class B misdemeanor and can attract at least $400 for the first offense and as high as $1000 for subsequent offenses.
What to do when the registration is suspended?
You can reinstate the registration of a vehicle. You will need the following things,
- 1. Ownership proof such as the vehicle's title or registration card.
- 2. Picture identification.
- 3. Evidence of insurance coverage such as,
- * SR-22 received from Utah licensed insurance company or agent
- * current insurance policy
- * current insurance binder
- * current insurance declaration
- * current insurance card
- 4. $100 reinstatement fee
DPS(Department of Public Safety) must maintain a vehicle operator/owner's security for a 3-year period. When a policy terminates, the insurer must inform the DPS.
Minimum Liability Coverage Requirements
Drivers are required to carry minimum liability insurance coverages. Liability coverages bear the expenses for victims in an accident when you are at-fault.
The minimum requirements are as follows,
- $25,000 in bodily injury per person, per accident.
- $65,000 in bodily injury total per accident.
- $15,000 in property damage per accident.
However, the victims can claim this coverage only after their Personal Injury Protection (PIP) benefits are exhausted.
Optional Auto Insurance Coverages In Utah
Some of the most common optional coverages offered by auto insurance companies in Utah are as follows,
Collision Coverage In Utah
Collision coverage covers the damages caused to your vehicle in an accident.
Comprehensive Coverage In Utah
Comprehensive coverage covers non-collision related damages such as damages caused by fire, theft or vandalism.
Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist Coverage in Utah
Uninsured/Underinsured motorist coverage protects you from expenses arising when the at-fault driver does not have the required liability coverage. Vehicle operators or drivers can opt out of uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage if they do so in writing.
Utah Helpline for Car Insurance Related Issues
Utah Insurance Department assists customer regarding car insurance related issues such as complaints and frauds. You can contact UID using the contact details given below,
Within Salt Lake - (801) 538-3890
Other Location In State - (800) 439-3805
Complaints can also be filed online after creating an account with UID.
Find the cheapest auto insurance quote in Utah
To find the best car insurance quote you need to be able to compare quotes from various companies in Utah. When you get quotes from multiple companies you can compare what coverages each company is providing. The common types of coverages are
- Liability Coverage.
- Property Damage Liability.
- Bodily Injury Liability.
- Comprehensive Coverage.
- Collision Coverage.
- Fire and Theft Coverage.
- Physical Damage Coverage.
- Personal Injury Protection.